So if you have questions about the sex offender registry, contact a knowledgeable North Carolina criminal defense attorney who can give you the answers and the help you need. Common Sex Offender related questions: State laws put too many restrictions on registered offenders. If the person is a current resident of North Carolina, the person shall register: In , Durham police began investigating Myspace and Facebook profiles to enforce the law. It is important to be aware of and understand what these rights are. Within 3 days of release from a penal institution or arrival in a county to live outside a penal institution on or after January 1, ; or Immediately upon conviction for a reportable offense where an active term of imprisonment was not imposed on or after January 1, The case raised questions about whether such laws prohibit sex offenders from participating in web-based forums, which have become virtual town squares, as they re-enter society. Those on the registry may not live close to schools or daycares. A study by Amanda Agan reported in the Journal of Law and Economics found that registries showed no effect on limiting re-offense rates. The recipient of those pictures also can be prosecuted even if she is underage. Despite studies indicating that only one out of four sex offenders reoffend , the law and the public at large will always look at you as a sex offender, no matter how much you try to change your life. You will have to register for at least 30 years — and sometimes for life. This information is immediately made available to the public via the Internet at address NC Sex Offenderand Public ProtectionRegistry or by submitting a written request to the appropriate county sheriff for a county wide registry. States also limit internet use as a condition of parole or probation.